Petatopolis: Tōkyō here I come again!

Fushimi-Inari-Taisha in Kyōtō. dstntns.wordpress.com

Though this is an image taken at Fushimi-Inari-Taisha in Kyōtō, I think it symbolises the essence of Japan rather well. At least for me as a foreigner, rather oblivious to the minute intricacies of Japanese culture.

In a few days I will have the good fortune of a business trip to Narita, a small satellite city not far from Tōkyō. And the good thing is that I will have oodles of time to spend one, maybe two nights in Tōkyō; a city so vast megatropolis does not do it right, hence the ‘Petatopolis’ in the title.

The plan is to book at least one night in a capsule hotel somewhere downtown, move around a lot and take a lot of pictures for another book I would like to make.

Unfortunately it looks like the idea of going on holiday in Japan this October, will remain just a plan. So I’ll try to make this visit count. Perhaps also visit Kyōtō or Osaka for a day trip (yes I will have that much time, if all goes to plan naturally).

The biggest enemy for me is always not so dear Mrs Jet Lag. I’m not such good friends with her. And to be completely honest, I’m also a bit afraid of getting lost. Not just abroad, anywhere. But I have my ways to distract myself and discover things that weren’t on my list while trying to figure out where I am (-;

I know there is this app where locals offer tours through their home towns, but I completely forgot what it is called. If anyone knows what I’m talking about please let me know what that app is called again. Would be nice if someone could show me around places foreigners don’t know exist!

If you are in the mood, have a look at my ebooks for iPad available on the Apple iBookstore.

If you like my images, repost, tweet, or tumblr, but with proper copyright attribution please.

(c) JW Amsterdam

iPad is a registered trade name of Apple, Inc., in the United States and other countries.

One thought on “Petatopolis: Tōkyō here I come again!

  1. Pingback: It was worth it. | Destinations!

Leave a Reply

